Taubman

Oct 24 Fri
Events TALK: C. Wright Mills, Then and Now John H. Summers (Editor, The Baffler)
Oct 29 Wed
Events TALK: The Great Escape: Nine Jews Who Fled Hitler and Changed the World Kati Marton (former NPR and ABC News Correspondent and bestselling author)
Oct 30 Thu
IHC's Machines People and Politics RFG TALK: New Topographies of Wind and Power in Kansas Lisa Cartwright (Professor of Art and Communication, UC San Diego)
Oct 30 Thu
The Anthropocene: Views from the Humanities Series INAUGURAL LECTURE: Should We Welcome the Anthropocene? Ken Hiltner (English and Enviornmental Studies, UCSB)
Oct 31 Fri
Magic Lantern Films SCREENING: The Rocky Horror Picture Show
Nov 4 Tue
The Anthropocene: Views from the Humanities Series TALK: The Anthropocene: A New Epoch of Thought? Kathryn Yusoff (Human Geography, Queen Mary University of London)
Nov 5 Wed
Events TALK: University Press Publishing in the Age of Kindle Leslie Mitchner (Rutgers University Press, Editor in Chief)
Nov 13 Thu
The Anthropocene: Views from the Humanities Series TALK: Charting a ‘Good’ Path in a Turbulent Age Andrew Revkin (The New York Times)
Nov 13 Thu
Events KEYNOTE LECTURE: Labor and Empire Vivek Chibber (History, New York University)
Nov 14 Fri
Events TALK: No-Win Situations: Roman Heroes, Exempla, and Military Ethics Rebecca Langlands (Classics, University of Exeter)
Nov 16 Sun
Events TALK: David: The Divided Heart Rabbi David Wolpe (Sinai Temple, Los Angeles)
Nov 18 Tue
The Anthropocene: Views from the Humanities Series TALK: Balancing on a Planet: Can Local Food Improve Health, Increase Equity, and Slow Global Warming? David A. Cleveland (Environmental Studies, UCSB)
Nov 18 Tue
The Anthropocene: Views from the Humanities Series TALK: Fixing Capitalism’s Deepest Flaws Peter Barnes (entrepreneur, journalist, author)
Nov 19 Wed
IHC's Reinventing Japan RFG TALK: Greeting the Dead: Managing Solitary Existence in Japan Anne Allison (Anthropology, Duke University)
Nov 20 Thu
The Anthropocene: Views from the Humanities Series TALK: Into the Bowels of the Anthropocene: Excrement and the Current Ecological Crisis Nicholas C. Kawa (Anthropology, Ball State University)
Nov 21 Fri
The Anthropocene: Views from the Humanities Series TALK: Problems with the Anthropocene: A View from Rural Amazonia Nicolas C. Kawa (Anthropology, Ball State University)
Dec 4 Thu
The Anthropocene: Views from the Humanities Series TALK: High and Dry: On Deserts and Crisis Dick Hebdige (Film & Media Studies & Studio Art, UCSB)

(view past events...)

 
Copyright © 2014 Interdisciplinary Humanities Center, University of California Santa Barbara. All rights reserved.