Event Archives for October 2012

Oct 8 Mon
IHC Research Focus Groups MEETING: 4Humanities@UCSB Meeting
Oct 9 Tue
IHC's Ethnography and Cultural Studies RFG TALK: Hearts of Pine: Song in the Lives of Three Korean Survivors of the Japanese “Comfort Women” Joshua Pilzer (University of Toronto)
Oct 11 Thu
IHC's Ancient Borderlands RFG TALK: UCSB-Westmont Annual Lecture in New Testament: Violence and the Book of Revelation: Žižek and John, Together at Last Steven Friesen (Religious Studies, University of Texas Austin)
Oct 11 Thu
IHC's Ethnography and Cultural Studies RFG MEETING: Ethnography and Cultural Studies RFG Planning Meeting
Oct 11 Thu
Upcoming Events TALK: The Experience of Authority in Early Modern England and America David D. Hall (Harvard Divinity School)
Oct 12 Fri
IHC's Language Interaction and Social Organization RFG TALK: Mobile Telepresence Peggy Szymanski (Xerox PARC)
Oct 17 Wed
Upcoming Events TALK: Rav Hisda’s Daughter Maggie Anton (Author, Rashi's Daughters)
Oct 18 Thu
IHC's Identity Studies RFG TALK: Who is a True Mongol?: Debates on Religious and National Identity in Contemporary Mongolia Vesna Wallace (Religious Studies, UCSB)
Oct 19 Fri
IHC's New Sexualities RFG TALK: Bottomhood is Powerful Nguyen Tan Hoang (Assistant Professor of English and Film Studies at Bryn Mawr College)
Oct 20 Sat
Fallout: In the Aftermath of War Series SCREENING: Persistence (Daniel Eisenberg, 1997) Introduction by Daniel Eisenberg
Oct 25 Thu
Fallout: In the Aftermath of War Series INAUGURAL LECTURE: War in History and Memory John Talbott
Oct 26 Fri
Upcoming Events TALK: American Democracy in an Era of Rising Inequality Paul Pierson (Political Science, UC Berkeley)
Oct 26 Fri
IHC Research Focus Groups TALK: Reuse of Theban 21st Dynasty Funerary Arts: A Case Study of Coffins in Italian Collections Kathyln Cooney (Art & Architecture, UCLA)
Oct 30 Tue
Fallout: In the Aftermath of War Series SCREENING: Where Soldiers Come From (Heather Courtney, 2011, 90 min.)