Campbell Hall

  1. Events
  2. Campbell Hall
Today

2019 Arthur N. Rupe Great Debate: Immigration: A Boon or Burden to U.S. Society?

Campbell Hall Building 538, University of California, Santa Barbara, Mesa Rd,, Santa Barbara, CA

Thursday, May 2, 2019 / 7:30 PM Participants: Rubén G. Rumbaut Mark Krikorian Moderator: Donald M. Kerwin, Jr. UCSB Campbell Hall FREE Experts on immigration, national security and refugee movements will engage in a debate about the U.S. immigration system, the values and interests it serves and the impact of immigration on the nation. Mark Krikorian, Executive Director of the Center for Immigration Studies, is the co-author of Open Immigration: Yea & Nay and the ...

UCSB Reads Author Talk: The Best We Could Do

Campbell Hall Building 538, University of California, Santa Barbara, Mesa Rd,, Santa Barbara, CA

UCSB Library is pleased to offer a free lecture and book-signing by Thi Bui, author of the UCSB Reads 2019 selection The Best We Could Do. The Best We Could Do is a memoir written in the form of a comic book, in the tradition of Art Spiegelman’s Maus and Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis. Thi Bui chronicles generations of her family history in Vietnam, including her birth during the final months of the Vietnam War and ...

TALK: How Did We Get Into This Mess?: Reclaiming Our Economy and Our Democracy

Campbell Hall Building 538, University of California, Santa Barbara, Mesa Rd,, Santa Barbara, CA

Robert Reich (Chancellor's Professor and Carmel P. Friesen Chair in Public Policy, UC Berkeley) was Secretary of Labor in the Administration of Bill Clinton. He is the author of Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few (2016) and Aftershock: The Next Economy and America's Future (2013). Co-sponsored by the Center for the Study of Work, Labor, and Democracy; UCSB Arts and Lectures; and the Blum Center for Global Poverty Alleviation and Sustainable Development.