Fall 2010


Monday, 4 October
Brice Erickson (UCSB): Excavations at Priniatikos Pyros-- the 2010 Field Season

Monday, 18 October
Stanley Burstein (CSU-LA): Ancient Northeast Africa and the Indian Ocean Trade
12pm in HSSB 4041

Monday, 1 November
Gonda Van Steen (Florida): Aeschylus' Persians on the Eve of the Greek War of Independence
12pm in HSSB 6020
(co-sponsored by the Classics Department)

Friday, 5 November
Gonda Van Steen (Florida): The Reception of Ancient Greek Comedy: Aristophanes
5pm in HSSB 6020
(co-sponsored by the Classics Department)

Tuesday, 16 November
Nicholas Hudson (UNC Wilmington): Eat Drink and be Roman: The Changing Identity of Dining in the Roman World
5pm at the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History
(sponsored by the Archaeological Institute of America)

 

Winter 2011

Monday 10 January
Opening Reception
12pm in HSSB 4041

Wednesday 12 January
Jas’ Elsner (Oxford & U. Chicago): Art and Rhetoric in Roman Culture
3pm in HSSB 6020
(sponsored by Classics & History)

Friday 21 January
John Younger (University of Kansas): Women in Prehistoric Greece
4pm in HSSB 4041

Monday 31 January
David Phillips (UCLA): Some Problems with Hubris in Athenian Law
12pm in HSSB 4041

Monday 07 February
Robert Morstein-Marx (UCSB): Alea iacta est and all that: Game Theory and Caesar at the Rubicon
12pm in HSSB 4041

Tuesday 8 February
Ronald Stroud (UC Berkeley): Magic and Religion in Ancient Corinth
5:30pm at the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History
(sponsored by the Archaeological Institute of America)

Monday14 February
Elizabeth Clark (Duke University): What's the Matter with Marriage? Some Early Christian Answers
12pm in HSSB 4041

Monday 07 March
Michael Dixon (U. Southern Indiana): Early Hellenistic Corinth Between Antigonid Macedon and the Achaian League
12pm in HSSB 4041

Go back